Submission: Cyclist Struck on Massachusetts Avenue between 4th and 5th, NW

Date: 6/15/11
Approx Time: 6PM
Description:
I left work about six o’clock 6/15 and was traveling NW on Mass between 4th and 5th. Traffic was heavy and so I was passing cars on the right. Near the apartment building that houses Buddha Bar, an SUV, stuck in traffic, opened the passenger door to let someone out. The car didn’t have hazards or a turn signal on and hadn’t moved out of the flow of traffic. I hit my brakes and kind of half went over my handle bars and crashed shoulder first into the door. I braked hard enough that the bike and car door never actually collided. The passenger was very apologetic and asked me repeatedly if I was alright. Taking a minute to gain my composure and check out my tender but otherwise intact collar bone I told him I was fine and sent him on his way. I was both shaken and furious but have noticed that driver/bike altercations haven’t ended well for cyclists recently. Besides, he seemed genuinely sorry and neither I nor my bike were damaged. I rode home, iced my shoulder, and called it a night.

About struckdc

Pedestrians and cyclists are hit in the District every day. We're advocating for better reporting to make DC safer for all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

