Submission: Cyclist Struck at 403 New Jersey Ave NW

Date: 6/22/11
Approx Time: 10AM
Description:
Last week I had some free time in the morning so I decided to pick up some reverse rider rewards for CaBi. After a couple of successful trips between 7th and F and 7th and T I decided it was time for breakfast so I freed up one last dock downtown and headed over to Union Station for my well deserved favorite of Swiss Oatmeal from Corner Bakery.
I turned left from D St NW on to New Jersey Ave NW and in front of The Liaison Hotel a limousine driver opened his door just as I was coming up to him. I had just enough reaction time to be able to swerve and avoid catapulting myself over the handlebars and instead my right leg took all of the force of the impact but luckily I was able to stay on the bike.
After turning around and yelling at the driver for awhile he apologized and I demanded his information in case I needed to file anything against his company. It turns out he is an independent driver (BSA Limousine & Sedan Services, Bamba S. Ahmed) but he provided me with his business card. By this time my leg had swollen and bruised pretty badly and now a week and a half later it is still swollen, tender and has a nasty bruise. I considered calling the police but I figured it would be more trouble than it was worth especially since I wasn’t hurt too badly.
I was able to hobble over to Union Station where Amtrak Police were clueless as to any first aid for my leg so I got my coveted Swiss Oatmeal and the staff at Corner Bakery were super nice and professional by getting me some ice to put on my leg while I ate and took the Circulator back home. Later in the day I went to Urgent Care just to be sure everything was OK and to see if anything needed to be drained from the now immensely swollen area but they said it was fine and just to let nature run its course.
Submitted by: Bryan

About struckdc

Pedestrians and cyclists are hit in the District every day. We're advocating for better reporting to make DC safer for all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Submission: Cyclist Struck at 403 New Jersey Ave NW

  1. Scott says:

    Why were you riding in the door zone?

Leave a Reply

