Submission: Pedestrian Struck 14th and T, NW

Date: 9/10/10
Approx Time: 2PM
Description: I’ll start out by saying that no one was injured. I work as a nanny and I was walking my charge, in his stroller, south on 14th Street, on the west side of the street. We were stopped, waiting for the light to change so I could cross safely and legally. The light changed. We had 40-some seconds to cross what is a very short intersection. I proceeded across the intersection. Out of my right eye I could see a black BMW SUV approaching the intersection. They were slowing down and I (foolishly) figured he would stop. Technically, he did. But only after bumping the stroller, he would have completely knocked it over if I hadn’t been holding it. I was really shaken up by it and could only respond by getting out of the road and checking on the baby. The driver didn’t even get out of the car! He just smiled and mouthed “Sorry”. I remember swearing at him, but I didn’t do anything sensible, like getting a license plate number. Fortunately, we will both be fine, but this guy didn’t even see us until it was too late because he wasn’t watching the road. I am really angry about this and am so mad I can’t get this guy in trouble. I guess all I can do is be glad everyone is okay and warn others to watch out for any black BMW SUVs.

About struckdc

Pedestrians and cyclists are hit in the District every day. We're advocating for better reporting to make DC safer for all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

