Submission: Cyclist Struck at 1st and S Sts, NW

Date: 11/22/10
Approx Time: 10PM
Jacqui writes:

I was on my bike heading West on S St. NW, coming up to 1st St. NW. I stopped at the 4 way stop intersection, and yielded to the car on my left heading North. I then proceeded across the intersection continuing West, as it was my turn. A man on my right, heading South on 1st, driving a 4 door Ford Focus from Maryland, did not yield the right of way, and went through the intersection shortly after I did. He collided with me, and I ended up on the hood of his car. He slammed on the brakes, and I ended up on the ground.

I had pain in my back, and about 5 people stopped to call 911, and help me get out of the street, and lock my bike up.

A fire truck arrived, followed by an ambulance, and finally a police car.

I was put in the ambulance, and while the EMTs were asking me questions, I could hear the police questioning the man who hit me, and I heard them issue him a ticket. I just got the police report and it says the ticket was for “failure to clear intersection.” I’m not sure how that applies to what happened. I thought for sure the ticket would be for failure to yield.

I ended up with two fractured ribs, a mangled bike, and broken glasses.

About struckdc

Pedestrians and cyclists are hit in the District every day. We're advocating for better reporting to make DC safer for all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

